History BannerOur History

In The Beginning…
A meeting was held in Omagh Orange hall by Brethren from Omagh District L.O.L. No. 11 on the 30th September 1991 with a view to setting up a credit union. Mr. Samuel Hammond chaired the meeting addressed by Mr. A. Clarke from Orchard Credit Union in Armagh. Following this meeting it was agreed to form a Savings Group. Many joined and brought their first shares. A second meeting was held on 12th October 1991 by the shareholders. The following officers were elected temporarily:
CHAIRMAN ~ Mr. Samuel Hammond
SECRETARY ~ Mr. Leslie Moore
TREASURER ~ Mr. Andrew Scott
It was proposed by Mrs. Brown and seconded by Mr. W. Wilson that we commence with a Savings Group from 18th October 1991 with the office hours of 7.00 pm till 8.30 pm. The Study Group would meet on Saturday nights from 7.30 pm till 8.30 pm. The name of this group would be Omagh No. 11 Credit Union Limited.

And Then…
During the period from October 1991 to June 1992 the Study Group met and on 19th June 1992 the members of the group sat the examination and passed. On the 1st July 1992 we were registered with the Department of Economic Development as a credit union. A meeting of shareholders was then held on 3rd July 1992 for the purpose of electing a Board of Directors. This was conducted by Mr. A. Clarke of Orchard Credit Union. The following members were elected: Mr. S. N. Hammond, Mrs. S. Burnside, Mrs. I. McFarland, Mr. G. Armstrong, Mr. L. Moore, Mr. S. McFarland, Mr. J. King, Mr. A. Monteith, Mr. A. McKernan, Mr. J. Bond, Mr. D. Short, Mrs. N. Waring.

Start Of Things To Come…
Officers were then elected from this first Board of Directors:
CHAIRMAN: Mr. S. N. Hammond | VICE CHAIRMAN: Mr. D. Short
SECRETARY: Mr. L. Moore | ASST. SECRETARY: Mrs. S. Burnside
TREASURER: Mr. S. McFarland | ASST. TREASURER: Mrs. I. McFarland
Following registration as a Limited Company, the name changed to Mid-Tyrone Credit Union Limited. The Common Bond of MTCU is ‘Membership of the Orange Family in Omagh District’. Affiliation was then made to the Ulster Federation of Credit Unions in Belfast. In September 2004 the Tyrone Federation of Credit Unions was formed. MTCU decided to sever their links with the Ulster Federation to join the new Tyrone Federation. After many years of good service as principal office-bearers Mr. Sam Hammond and Mr. L. Moore stood down from their positions of Chairman and Secretary at the 2012 AGM.